Sahitya Academy holds Literary Forum on Konkani Poet Louis Mascarenhas

The Sahitya Academy in association with the Konkani Institute of St Aloysius (Deemed to be University) held a Literary Forum on Konkani Poet Louis Mascarenhas on 16th February 2024 in Robert Sequeira Hall of LCRI block. 

Dr Alwyn D’Sa, Registrar & Controller of Examinations, St Aloysius (Deemed to be University), Mr Melwyn Rodrigues, renowned Konkani Poet, Convenor of Sahitya Academy, Mr Henry Mendonca (H. M. Pernal), renowned writer and member of Sahitya Academy, Rev. Dr Melwyn Sunny Pinto, SJ, Director of Konkani Institute and Mr Joachim Pinto, Programme Coordinator, Konkani Institute, were on the dais. 

Dr Alwyn D’Sa, welcomed the gathering and gave insights into of the programme. He also briefed about the main objectives of the Literary Forum and listed the programmes already organized through it. He also introduced the upcoming programmes to be organized in the future.

Mr Henry Mendonca in his address, spoke on the role played by the Kendra Sahitya Academy which was established in 1954 by the then Prime Minister, Sri Jawaharlal Nehru, who served the Academy as President for 10 years. He elaboratedon  the aim and objectives of the Kendra Sahitya Academy with special focus on how the Konkani Sahitya Academy publishes the writings of Konkani litterateurs and also recognizes and awards them for their write-ups. 

During the programme, there were four paper presentations on the life and literary works of Sri Louis Mascarenhas. Mr Dolphy Casia, a renowned writer and Sahitya Academy awardee, presented a paper on ‘Life and Works of Louis Mascarenhas’. Mr Melwyn Rodrigues presented a paper on ‘Prosody in Louis Mascarenhas’s Poetry’; Fr Francis Rodrigues presented a paper on ‘Louis Mascarenhas as an Editor’ and Fr Alwyn Serrao presented a paper on ‘Louis Mascarenhasas the Playwright. Rev. Dr Melwyn Sunny Pinto was the moderator for the paper presentations. 

Mr Mervin Sequeira compered the programme. Ms Delvita Veigas convened the paper presentations. Mr Joachim Pinto proposed the vote of thanks.