Econovanza 2019 - National Level Intercollegiate Fest

The Department of Economics of St Aloysius College (Autonomous) Mangaluru organised a one-day State Level intercollegiate economics fest “ECONOVANZA-2019” on Wednesday, 21 August, 2019 at Eric Mathias Hall. Dr Shripathy Kalluaraya P. Finance Officer and Professor of Economics, Mangalore University was the Chief Guest of the program. Rev Dr Praveen Martis SJ, Principal, St Aloysius College, Mangaluru presided over the program. Dr Norbert Lobo, HOD of Economics, Mr Alwyn Misquith and Mr Reji John, the Co-ordinators of Econovanza, Llyod Vineeth Sequeira and Suzana Asiya, the Student Co-ordinators were present on the dais.

The programme was inaugurated in a unique way by putting a coin into the Piggy Bank by the dignitaries and unveiling the theme of the Fest ‘Save Resources’.

Dr Shripathy Kalluaraya P. in his address shared his experience of teaching and being a part of St Aloysius College in various capacities. He said that, we are now in a world of competitions and Economics is a science of ‘wants’ and it needs to be more creative nowadays. We must see how ‘wants’ entered into Economics and how they got emerged. Besides today, ‘wants’ emerge in the young minds with social and technological advancement. We must study the human behaviour and how the culture should implement it. He urged the students to become more smart and do hard work to achieve great things in their life.  

Principal, Rev. Dr Praveen Martis, in his presidential remarks, thanked the department for organising Econovanza in a meticulous manner. He advised the students to prepare themselves for the future prospects.
Econovanza 2019 is the 5th Edition of its existence. This year, there were 10 different competitions organised on the theme “Save Resources” and over 250 students from 23 different colleges from Karnataka and Kerala participated in these events.

During the inaugural programme, Finance Officer of Mangalore University, Dr Shripathy Kalluaraya P. was honoured for his meritorious services in the field of education.

Registrar, Dr A.M. Narahari, Controller of Examinations, Dr Alwyn D’Sa, Director of Admin Block, Dr Dennis Fernandes, deans and faculty members were present during the programme.

Mr Awlyn Misquith welcomed the gathering. Karen Hezron Maben compered the programme. Lloyd Vineeth Sequeira proposed the vote of thanks.